Bulldogs’ Tolbert named MVP

By Kevin Eckleberry Sports Editor

December 30, 2013

There were plenty of stars for the Opelika Bulldogs during the LaGrange Toyota Basketball Classic.

Everyone who stepped on to the court contributed something to the Bulldogs’ championship effort.

Only one player could be named the tournament’s most valuable player, though, and for Opelika that player was senior Shontrez Tolbert.

Tolbert scored in double figures in two of the Bulldogs’ three games, and although standing just 6-foot-1, he did a solid job in the paint.

Junior guard Pernell Vickerstaff also made the all-tournament team for Opelika.

The team Opelika beat in the championship game, Rockdale County, also had two players on the all-tournament team, Conner Ferrell and Darryl Tucker.

Tucker scored 26 points in the championship game.

LaGrange’s representative on the all-tournament team was Walter Shelton, who had a team-high 12 points in Monday’s victory over Valley in the third-place game.

The other all-tournament players were Mohammed Hamilton (W.D. Mohammed), Kenwrick Sanders (Wayne County), Zack Walker (East Coweta), Will Washington (McIntosh) and Caleb Jenkins (Valley).

FINAL STANDINGS: When the dust cleared, Opelika was the only one of the eight tournament teams to make it through unblemished.

After surviving a couple of close games, Opelika blew out Rockdale County 60-45 in the championship game.

Rockdale County, LaGrange and McIntosh each finished with 2-1 record, and Valley, East Coweta and Wayne County each went 1-2.

W.D. Mohammed, which played for the tournament championship a year ago, finished 0-3.

Here are where the teams finished in the standings.

If a team lost on the first day, the best it could do was finish fifth, which is why a 2-1 McIntosh team finished behind a 1-2 Valley team in the final standings.

First - Opelika (3-0)

Second - Rockdale County (2-1)

Third - LaGrange (2-1)

Fourth - Valley (1-2)

Fifth - McIntosh (2-1)

Sixth - East Coweta (1-2)

Seventh - Wayne County (1-2)

Eighth - W.D. Mohammed (0-3)