LaGrange Symphony board celebrates 25 years at annual meeting

Prepared by LSO staff

August 18, 2014

The LaGrange Symphony Orchestra Board of Directors recently held its 2014 Annual Meeting during which new officers and board members were installed. Retiring board members and two former members were also recognized for their service.

Five retiring members were honored with Emeritus Status. Toni Anderson, Sue Duttera, George Henry, Werner Linz and Dennis Riddle represent more than 70 total years of service to the board. Gary Mayer, Board President, commended the group saying, “Your vision and commitment to the organization has played an integral role in shaping the orchestra.”

Mayer also announced the creation of a new classification for former board members. Life Member status may be granted to former members of the Board who have rendered substantial length of service or support to the Corporation but fall short of the nine years of service required for Emeritus Status. “I am proud to recognize Judy Boggus and Nancy Stevens as the LaGrange Symphony’s first two Life Members. They both have worked tirelessly for the Orchestra and are most deserving of this inaugural honor,” said Gary Mayer.

Officers for the 2014-15 year were installed at the meeting and include Gary Mayer, President; Gail Daniel, President-Elect; Anthony Criswell, Vice President; Whitney Payne, Treasurer; Mary Lynn Faress, Secretary and Scott Smith, Immediate Past President. Also recognized were new board members George Baker, Joeline Davidson, Scott Landa, Jeff Higgins and Kaye Minchew.

Celebrating 25 years of enriching our community through music, the LaGrange Symphony Orchestra helps create memorable moments of music. Learn more at

For more information, please contact the LSO office at 706.882.0662 or e-mail, or visit us online at